Monmouthshire County Council Elections 2012 – Results

Votes have now been counted for the Monmouthshire County Council elections, held on 4th May 2012. 43 seats covering 42 wards were up for election, although six of these seats were uncontested due to there being only one candidate.  78 polling stations across Monmouthshire opened at 7am and closed at 10pm.

There was a 38.3% turnout. Counting took place overnight at Chepstow Leisure Centre, with the first results announced at 2.00am and the last ones at 5.25am. Counting for the town and community council elections will take place on the morning of 4th May.

Full results can be found on our website – The numbers of seats won by each political grouping are as follows:
Conservative – 19
Independent – 10
Labour – 11
Liberal Democrat – 3

Paul Matthews, Monmouthshire County Council’s Returning Officer, said:

“I’m delighted to say that the elections were conducted extremely well and I would like to thank the many polling station and counting staff that made it possible. I would also like to thank the candidates for following the rules and respecting the democratic process. As Monmouthshire County Council’s Chief Executive, I’m looking forward to working with the new council as it faces the challenges of the next five years.”

There were 48 people counting the votes, with 8 count supervisors.